Area: 220 km2
Airport: Tel.: (371) 1402801, 1402802. Abdullaev str.
General Booking Agency: Tel.: (371) 1404810. 9, Sh. Rustaveli str.
train station: 1, Turkestan str.
ticket selling office: Tel.: (371) 1997215, 19972116
Head-Post Office: Tel.: (371) 2336823, 2334749. 7, Tukay str.
Federal Express: Tel.: 1400700, 1400701
DHL Worldwide Express: Tel.: 1205525, 1205507
ARAMEX LTD.: Tel.: 2784050
Information services of Tashkent
101 - Fires
102 - Police
103 - Fast help
104 - Gaz service
105 - Service of saving
001 - Weather-forecast
055, 1997215 - Information service of railway
006, 066 - Information service of airport
007 - Offering of interurban talking
2443961/62 - from hotels
2530579 - Information service of flat telephones
109 - Referral service
Annual average temperature, °С
Tashkent - is the capital of Uzbekistan, is one of the oldest and largest cities in Central Asia.
Dating from about the 2nd century BC, Tashkent started as an oasis on the Chirchik River, near the foothills of the Tien Shan Mountains, and grew to be a significant trade centre on the caravan routes to Europe and East Asia.
During it's long and reach history, Tashkent had a great various changes in political, religious affiliations and also in it's names. Located at the Northern frontier of Tansoxiane, in the fruitful valley of the river Chirchik, this cutting edge of settled civilisation was one of the privileged place of trade between Kazakh nomads of the steppe and Sogdian merchants. Since its foundation, on the second century b.c., the city had different names: Choch, Shash, then Binkent. When the Arabs took the town in 751, it was already an important place on the Silk Road.
On the XIth century, the city is renamed Tashkent (stone city in Turkish).
At the beginning of the XIIIth century, Tashkent suffered from many destructions and was emptied of its population under the Shah of Khorezm and Gengis Khan. Under the reign of Tamerlane, the city was given to his grand son, Ulugbek, and find again some prosperity. Despite the general decline of the cities located along the Silk Road as from the XIth century, Tashkent is growing with the Shaybanides at the end of the XVth century and during the XVIth century. Most of the monuments that we can see nowadays date back to this time.
During the visit of the city, you will see the madrasa Kukeldash (XVIth century), the whole Hasti Imam, Barak Khan madrasa (XVIth century), Tilla Sheikh mosque (XIXth century), Kaffal Shashi mausoleum (XVIth century), the museum of decorative arts as well as the Chorsu bazaar.
Today, Tashkent is a modern, cosmopolitan city with numerous skyscrapers, large boulevards and green parks, concert halls and theatres, museums and art galleries.
The Uzbek capital offers some of the best opportunities for nightlife and shopping in Central Asia, as well as amusement parks and nearby outdoor activities such as trekking,skiing,rafting, and kayaking.
Being directly linked by international airlines with the countries of Europe, America and Asia, Tashkent is an important transport hub of Central Asia.
Madrasah of Abdulkasim Sheikh (16-th century)
The Madrasah of Abdulkasim Sheikh, built up in the 16th century, initially was a complex, which comprised mosque, bathhouse and madrasah. The place, where the complex is located, formerly called Yangi MahaNa, was one of the public centers. Originally the Abdulkasim Sheikh Madrassah was a single-storey building. In 1864 when it was rebuilt a second storey was made. The Madrasah has its well-shaped portal with arch. The arcades and two towers (guldasta) at the corners flanked portal on either side. The square-shaped courtyard had a mosque, lecture rooms and is still fringed by the dormitory cells in which students lived. For a long time Abdulkasim Sheikh Madrasah stood on the back street. Yet, recently it has acquired a new stately neighbor, Parliament's building. In combination with modern, the historical building looks even more attractive.
The Madrasah Kukeldash is one of most significant architectural sights of the 16th century. The main entrance, 19.7 m. high, which is arranged as imposing portal, leads to the courtyard that is bordered by two-storied hostels in the form of sections. Each section consists of a room and entrance niche - ayvana. Two or three students occupied each room. The towers (guldasta) at the corners serve for muezzins (azanchi), when they call believers for worship (namaz).
Dzhuma Mosque (the Main Friday Mosque)
The first building of Dzhuma Mosque (the Main Friday Mosque) was built in 1451 at the expense of Sheikh Uboydullo Khodja Ahror (1404-1490).
The Main Friday Mosque was built on a hill, therefore one could see this grand building in the distance. From then until the present, people name it the Mosque of Uboydullo Ahror in memory of him.
The Mosque of Uboydullo Ahror was badly damaged by a devastating earthquake in 1868. Though it was rebuilt 20 years later, the political disasters, such as Russian invasion, and Soviet godless regime have put the Mosque on the complete decline. The ruins were thrown down in 1997 whereupon new building was built on that place.
Sheikh Hovendi at-Tahur (Sheihantaur)
Sheikh Hovendi at-Tahur (Sheihantaur) was born at the end of the 13th century. He came from the family of Saints (Khodja), who were the offspring of Muhammad prophet. The Sheikh died between 1355 and 1360.
The mausoleum (mazar) of Sheihantaur, repeatedly changed its shape, was erected here in the 14th century. It concludes unique, extant up to now sacred Saur of Iskander beside which the gravestone is located. Saurs - coniferous trees of local breed which were lifeless already in the XV century. Is believed their origin is connected with the name Alexander the Great, which is very honored in the East as the ancient prophet.
The Qaldirghochbiy Mausoleum
Qaldirghochbiy Mausoleum is a burial vault with pyramidal dome, which is uncommon for Uzbekistan. Tole-biy (Qaldirghochbiy) is a legendary judge from Duglat tribe, which once actually ruled Tashkent. The Mausoleum was erected in the first half of the 15th century. The yard and decoration weren't kept safe.
The Mausoleum of Unus-Khan
The mausoleum of Unus-Khan is located close to the mausoleum of Sheihantaur. It is the one of the two monumental buildings constructed in the XV century, which still can be seen today. Unus-Khan of Mogolistan (1415- 1487) was one of the Tashkent's rulers.
The Khast Imam Square
The Khast Imam Square and the Barak Khan Madrassah, founded in the 16th century by descendent of Tamerlane who ruled Tashkent for the Shaybanid dynasty. The ornate facade of blue-tiled mosaic and Koranic inscription conceals a rose garden courtyard and 35 hujra. Tourists must request permission to view the interior, for this is the administrative centre of the Mufti of Uzbekistan, the head of official Islam in the Republic. Directly opposite Barak Khan is the Tellya Sheikh Mosque, first built in the same era and now employed as the city's chief Friday Mosque. Male visitors may petition the imam for the chance to see its beautiful Islamic Library.
The Madrasah of Barakhan
The Madrasah of Barakhan was formed in the 15th-16th centuries out of edifices, which occurred at different times. The initial body was a mausoleum east of the actual complex. The second element was two-cupola Mausoleum- Khanaka, of Tashkent's ruler Soyunidj Khan Shaybani, 1530. In the middle of the 16th century the complex was rearranged into madrasah. The complex was named after of that time's ruler, Nauruz-Ahmed, nicknamed, Barakhan. The entrance portal to the Madrasah of Barakhan isn't characteristic for Tashkent in way of its decoration. Its bay is topped with a vault "colab-cory" tympanum and pylons are decorated with carved bricks and various mosaics.
The Mausoleum of Kaffol Shoshiy
The mausoleum was built in honor of imam Abubakr ibn Ali ibn Ismail Al Kaffol al Shoshiy. The first burial vault was not kept safe. Actual mausoleum was built in 1542 byGulyam Husain, who was Khan's architect at that time. It is an asymmetric domed portal mausoleum - khanaka. Khanakas were erected to give pilgrims from distant lands a shelter in living cells - hujras. Mausoleums' complexes also often included mosque and an eating-room called oshkhana with a kitchen. There is a late burial place (sagana) on small yard south of the main building. The mausoleum is built of baked bricks.
The Mausoleum of Sheikh Zaynudin Bobo
The Mausoleum of Sheikh Zaynudin Bobo is located in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. The Sheikh Zaynudin Bobo was a writer and popularizer of Sufi order, known as Suhrawardiyya. An accurate date of his birth is unknown. As believed Sheikh Zaynudin died when he was 95. Arguably he was a son of the founder of Suhrawardiyya order, Diya al-din Abu 'n-Najib as-Surawardi (1097 1168), who has sent his son Sheikh Zaynudin to Tashkent with the purpose to spread ideas of his order. Sheikh Zaynudin was conveyed to earth at the graveyard of Orifon village beyond the Kukcha Gate (now within the Tashkent). There is an underground cell (chillahona of the 12th century) to mausoleum, where Sheikh Zaynudin conducted his 40-day meditations (chilla) and chartak dating back to the 14th century. The mausoleum built in the 16th century was rebuilt in the end of 19th century.
The mausoleums of Zangiata-Sufi
The mausoleums of Zangiata - Sufi, who was very popular in Tashkent and of his wife Ambar bibi - were conceivably built by Tamerlane in the nineties the 14th century. The real name of Zangiata was Sheikh Ay-Khodja. The nickname Zangiata means "black". He came from the family of descendants of Khazret Arslan bobo and also he was the fifth "murid" of Sufi Khodja Ahmad Yassavi considered as a spiritual forefather of all Turkic tribes of Central Asia and Kazakhstan.
The mausoleum complex consist of the following: mosque Namazgoh (1870), minaret (1914-1915), mausoleum of Zangiata, courtyard with living cells - hujras of former madrasah (the 18th - 19th c.), cemetery and mausoleum of Ambar bibi on it.
State Museum of Applied Art
In State museum of applied art of Uzbekistan there are more than 7,000 pieces of traditional folk art, starting from the first half of the XlXth century until modern times. The museum collection is represented by all regions of Uzbekistan, many of which are recognized as centers of artful handicrafts. Among the exhibits you will find ceramic, glass and porcelain plates and dished, samples of hand-made and machine embroidery, national fabrics and clothes, carpets, works of wood engraving, varnished miniatures, jewelry and many other things. The museum attracts by its atmosphere, which lets a visitor feel all charm of ancient objects and interior. It also hosts trade exhibitions of contemporary works of art created on the basis of local traditional techniques. This museum bears interest not only by its collection, but also by the building itself, which represents a model of architectural decorative art.
State Museum of Art
Collection of this museum consists of more than 50,000 exhibits gathered in five sections - decorative folk art and fine arts of Uzbekistan, Russian and Western European arts, and foreign Oriental arts. Decorative folk art and applied art is represented by pieces that date back to ancient times, starting from the I century B.C. to the I century A.D. These are discoveries made during excavations on the territory of Southern Uzbekistan - in Khalchayan castle, Varakhsha (Bukhara), and in a settlement of Kuva (Fergana valley).
Museum of History of Timurids
Amir Temur is a statesman, military commander and legislator, a founder of a great empire, the borders of which were spread from the Mediterranean Sea up to the Great Wall of China, from the Caspian Sea up to the Persian Gulf.
The museum holds a collection of materials about Amir Temur and Temurids. Among descendants of Amir Temur there were such famous people as great scientists and ruler of Maverannakhr Mirzo Ulugbek, ruler of Khorasan Hussein Baykara, a wonderful poet, historian and a founder of state of Baburids (Great Moguls) in India Zakhiridiin Mukhammad Babur.
Exposition holds archaeological, ethnographic and numismatic materials, armament and armor of warrior, as well as objects that appeared in the state of Amir Temur through the Great Silk Road. There are valuable documents in this museum, such as a correspondence of AmirTemur and his descendants with European monarchs, artful miniatures, and copies of Amir Temur's portraits that were painted by European artists of those times. Originals of those pieces are stored in the National Library of France.
State Museum of History of Uzbekistan
Museum's exposition gives a visitor an opportunity to imagine all stages of long-term development of civilization in Central Asia, starting from the Stone Age and establishment of first states in the territory of Uzbekistan up to modern times. Many exhibits of the museum are world-famous. Among them the large bronze Saxon cauldron of the V-IV centuries B.C., decorated by the statuettes of animals, or a magnificent sculpture image of Buddha of the I century A.D., which was found in Surkhandarya region. Museum has a fine collection of ancient ceramics and fabrics. Besides a large set of ancient coins, the museum holds more than 250,000 exhibits. Museum holds significant archaeological, ethnographic, numismatic collections, as well as sets of documents, historical relics and pieces of art.
The Tashkent Railway Museum
This unique museum of railway equipment was opened on the 4th of August 1989 in honor of the centenary anniversary of the Uzbek trunk railway and it is one of the largest museums of its kind in the world. Among the many interesting exhibits are thirteen steam locomotives of historical period, approximately twenty diesel and electric locomotives, engines and mechanisms of the repair and engineering technician, all reasons why the Tashkent museum was included in the World Association of Technical Museums associated with the railway.
The main attraction (for adults as much as for children) is an opportunity to ride on a mini-diesel TU 7-A locomotive with two carriages.
Alisher Navoi State Academic Grand Theatre
The hall of Alisher Navoi State Academic Grand Theatre has 860 seats. Repertoire of the theatre includes classical plays and plays based on national Uzbek history, traditions and dance culture. Tickets for traditionally popular ballets, such as "Don Kikhot", "Nutcracker", "Giselle", "Swan lake", "1000 and one night", as well as tickets for premieres should be purchased in advance. Among opera plays the most popular are "Seville barber", "Carmen", "Aida", and "Magic flute". Operas are performed in Italian, Russian and Uzbek languages. Alisher Navoi State Academic Grand Theatre is the only Grand theatre in Central and South-Eastern Asia. Its stage hosts concerts, tours of foreign performers, theatre festivals, recitals of leading soloists and various festive events. The theatre participates in different international projects and contests, cooperates with embassies and diplomatic representatives of foreign countries, accredited in Uzbekistan.
Central Exhibition Hall of the Academy of Art of Uzbekistan
The exposition square (2500 sq.m.) of the Hall is the biggest in the country and Central Asia. It was opened in 1974. Its structure includes Exhibition management unit, Art hamroh and Manzara galleries. It hosts the largest international, republican, personal, group and transit opening days (annually, more than 50). CEH closely cooperates with foreign Embassies, cultural and scientific centers accredited in Uzbekistan.
It organizes conferences, symposiums, round tables on urgent issues of modern art, meetings and evenings with representatives from creative unions of composers, writers, theater and cinema actors. It produces catalogs, booklet and invitations for exhibitions.
Gallery of Fine Arts
Very rich collection of works of fine arts of Uzbekistan dating back from the beginning of the XX century up to present years, as well as unique collection of numismatics of Central Asia is exhibited in the Gallery, which was opened in 2004.
Modern equipment of the Gallery promotes meeting of highest requirements of temperature, humidity and security for demonstration and storing of exhibits. It includes the hall for lectures, cinema hall, library, studio for master-classes and art-studio. Besides the exposition-exhibition squire, which consists of 15 halls with 3,500 sq.m. area, the Gallery possess well- equipped conference hall for carrying out exhibitions, conferences, seminars, presentations, business-meetings and other events.
Zoological park of Tashkent
Tashkent Zoological park has 22.7 hectares of the territory.
All open-air cages whenever possible were landscape type, and corresponded to all modern requirements. Feature of a Tashkent Zoo is its sea aqua systems in Aquarium.
In sea aqua systems you can see the sea animals: sharks, murens, fishes, polyps etc. Today in a Zoo live: mammals - 58 species, 189 specimens; birds - 74 species, 472 specimens; reptiles and amphibians - 26 species, 81 specimens; fishes - 191 species, 2141 specimens. Specialization of the Tashkent Zoo - reproduction of birds of prey. Goode results on breeding of birds of prey - white-headed griffon, a black griffon and condor.
Big scientific work on cultivation of rare and disappearing species of animals is conducted. The Zoo has close relations with 46 Zoos all over the world.
The Botanical garden
The Botanical garden of the Uzbekistan Academy of Sciences is the oldest botanical garden in Uzbekistan, that exists from 1950. The whole area of the Botanical garden is 66 hectares and it is situated on the north-eastern part of Tashkent. The dendrarium area of the garden is 40 hectares and it consists from the dendroflora expositions of the Eastern Asia, Northern America, Far East, Europe, Crimea and Caucasus. More than 4500 kinds, forms, sorts and varieties of trees, bushes, shrubs, lianas, grassy and water plants are in the collection of the Botanical garden.